Quran Habit vs Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word)
This page is published by the makers of Quran Habit. Every Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word) fact below comes from their own public materials, read on 7 September 2026, and the rows where Al Quran by Greentech is ahead are argued first rather than last.
You want to know what each word means, not just what the ayah says.
Start with the part that matters most, because burying it would be dishonest and would also waste your time. Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word), from the Greentech Apps Foundation, beats Quran Habit on word-by-word study, which is the exact axis their name promises and the exact reason most people search for an app like this.
Their materials claim word-by-word translation in 15+ languages against our 14, and each word carries root and lemma, grammar, morphology, occurrences in different forms, and verb forms. Quran Habit has none of that apparatus: we give the meaning of the word and stop. They are also completely free with no adverts, state that all features work offline, run a khatmah planner with a 29 or 30-day or custom schedule, and hand out streak badges. They are a registered UK charity.
If word-level meaning is your main reason for installing anything, install theirs. That is not a rhetorical concession before a rebuttal, it is the recommendation.
What is left is narrow and we will not inflate it: the reading surface, and the shape of the habit layer. Their column was read from their site and both store listings on 7 September 2026.
Where Al Quran by Greentech beats us
On word by word, which is the thing most people come to this app for. Their materials claim word-by-word translation in 15+ languages against our 14, and they carry root and lemma, grammar, morphology, occurrences and verb forms for each word, none of which Quran Habit offers. They are also free with no ads, work fully offline, and run a khatmah planner, streak badges and daily goals of their own. If word-level meaning is your main reason for installing anything, install theirs.
What Quran Habit is
A free Quran app and website built around one idea: that the hard part is not finding the Quran, it is coming back to it tomorrow. Everything below is free to read, with no advertising anywhere. On this page, do not read the card below as a rebuttal. It is what is left after the word-by-word rows have gone to them.
- The mushaf you know. Page-accurate images, all 604 Madani pages, plus IndoPak at 610 and Naskh at 612.
- 43 translation languages and a 13-language interface, right to left for Arabic, Persian and Urdu.
- Word by word meanings in 14 languages, with per-word audio for learners.
- 40 reciters, 11 of them with word-level timing so the word highlights as it is recited.
- Tajweed colour script, and 4 scripts in all.
- Habit, not guilt. Streaks built to survive a bad day, khatm plans, and 33 weekly reading leagues.
- 84 Quranic duas and the 99 names, and the Hijri seasons the khatm plans are built around.
What Quran Habit looks like
Our own screens, from the shipping app. Al Quran by Greentech's own App Store screenshots are further down this page, taken from their listing.
The feature table, in this comparison's order
The first two rows are the ones most readers of this page came for. Both apps state the first; the second we simply do not have.
Yes: their materials state it. No: they state its absence, or it is checkable from outside and checkably absent. Not stated: they are silent, which is never counted as a missing feature. We are held to the same rule, and our own column is read from our own store listings the same way.
- 2 rows Quran Habit states and Al Quran by Greentech's materials do not
- 1 row Al Quran by Greentech states and Quran Habit's do not
- 10 rows both state
- 3 rows neither states
The one row we lose: Word grammar and roots.
| Feature | Quran Habit | Al Quran by Greentech |
|---|---|---|
| Word-by-word meaning Is there a translation under each individual word? | Yes Word-by-word meaning in 14 languages, with per-word audio. | Yes The core of the app, and the deepest here: "word by word translations of the Quran in 15+ languages". Al Quran by Greentech's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Word grammar and roots Are root, lemma, morphology or verb forms shown per word? | No No root, no lemma, no morphology, no verb forms. We give the meaning and stop. | Yes Word root and lemma, grammar, morphology, occurrences in different forms, and verb forms. Al Quran by Greentech's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Works offline Do their materials state that reading works with no connection? | Yes Both our store listings state it: the full Quran offline in four scripts, and any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full. The page-image mushafs are downloads. | Yes "All features can be used offline" on Play, "All feature supports offline" on the App Store, with downloadable recitations. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| No adverts Is the free tier free of advertising? | Yes None anywhere, and Google Play carries no "Contains ads" label on our listing. | Yes By their own claim in all three of their documents: their site heads a panel "Completely Ad Free", their App Store description says "Completely free and ad-free, with support for 66 languages!" and their Play description says "Completely free & no ads!" No "Contains ads" label on Play. Al Quran by Greentech's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Tajweed colouring Is tajweed shown as colour in the reading view? | Yes A tajweed colour script, one of the four. | Yes Colour-coded tajweed, per both store listings and their site. Al Quran by Greentech's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Page-accurate mushaf Does a page on screen match a page of a named printed mushaf? | Yes All 604 Madani pages as page images, plus IndoPak at 610 and Naskh at 612. | Not stated Their claim is about the experience, "the same experience when reciting from a hard-copy Mushaf". A page-for-page match to a named printed edition is not stated, and no line count is given. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| League or leaderboard Are readers ranked against other readers? | Yes 33 weekly reading leagues, plus streak and friends tables. | Not stated Not stated. Their habit features are personal rather than ranked. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Khatm plan Is there a dated plan for finishing the whole Quran? | Yes Dated plans, including the seasonal ones. | Yes A "Quran Planner" khatmah plan on a 29 or 30-day schedule, or a custom one, with multi-device sync. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Reading streak Does it count consecutive days of reading? | Yes Built to survive a bad day rather than punish one. | Yes Daily reading goals, daily and weekly activity tracking, and "badges for completing streak milestones". Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Quran text free Can you read the whole Quran without paying? | Yes Free to install; the whole Quran is free on this website with no account. The text and the word-by-word are never put behind a paywall. | Yes Free: "Completely free & no ads!", and on their site "No hidden charges and completely free." The eight App Store purchase tiers from $4.99 to $999.99 carry no feature at all, which reads as donations. Al Quran by Greentech's own site and their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| More than one script Is more than one mushaf script or edition offered? | Yes 4 scripts, 10 mushaf choices. | Yes Mushaf mode in Madani, Naskh IndoPak, Qaloon, Shemerly and Warsh. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Word-level audio Is audio aligned to single words, not only to whole ayat? | Yes 11 of the 40 reciters carry word-level timing. | Yes Reciters are tagged by type, including "WBW", which is audio at the level of the single word. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Prayer times in the app Does the same app also give prayer times, Athan or Qibla? | No Not in the app: no prayer-time screen, no qibla. They exist on this website only. | Not stated Not stated for this app. Al Quran by Greentech's own site and their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Checks your recitation Does it listen to you recite and flag mistakes? | No No speech recognition of any kind. The app never listens to you. | Not stated Not stated. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Source code public Is the source published under a licence anyone can read? | No Closed source. | Not stated Whether the app is open source, and under what licence, is not stated anywhere in their materials. Al Quran by Greentech's own site, read 7 September 2026 |
| iPhone app Is there an App Store listing today? | Yes On Google Play and the App Store. | Yes A live App Store listing. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
The Al Quran by Greentech documents every row above was read from
- Al Quran by Greentech's own site, read 7 September 2026
- their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026
- their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
A row rests on one of these or it is not here. A claim from a help centre with no stable address is named in the cell instead of linked.
Word-by-word meaning
Theirs. "Word by word translations of the Quran in 15+ languages" against our 14, and word-by-word is the feature their app is named for rather than one of a list.
Word grammar and roots
Theirs, and it is not close. Root and lemma, grammar, morphology, occurrences in different forms, verb forms. Quran Habit has none of it. A reader working through the Quran with a grammar in one hand should be using their app.
Works offline
Theirs is stated on both stores: "All features can be used offline", with downloadable recitations. Ours is stated on both stores too, and theirs is the wider claim: they say every feature, we say the Quran text in four scripts and any reciter kept on the device.
No adverts
Both, and both say so. Their site heads a panel "Completely Ad Free" and their Play description says "Completely free & no ads!" on their side; no "Contains ads" label on our Play listing on ours.
Tajweed colouring
Both. Colour-coded tajweed on their side per their site and both listings, and one of four scripts on ours.
Page-accurate mushaf
The one reading row that goes to us, and it is narrow. Their mushaf mode covers Madani, Naskh IndoPak, Qaloon, Shemerly and Warsh, and their claim is about the experience: "the same experience when reciting from a hard-copy Mushaf". They state no page-for-page match to a named printed edition and give no line count. Quran Habit ships 604 Madani page images and names the edition, so a page reference in a class or a study circle lands on the same page.
League or leaderboard
Ours, and it is a difference of philosophy rather than of capability. They have goals, badges and streak milestones, all of them personal. We add 33 weekly leagues, which puts other people in the room. Some readers want that and some are repelled by it.
Khatm plan
Both. Their Quran Planner does 29 or 30 days or a custom schedule with multi-device sync; ours does the same and adds the seasonal plans.
What Al Quran by Greentech shows on its own listing
Their images, not ours. These are the first 3 screenshots on Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word)'s App Store listing, read on 8 September 2026. They are what the publisher chose to show, and none of them was taken from inside the app.
Choose Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word) if
Install Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word). For word-by-word meaning, grammar and tafsir across dozens of languages, free, offline and without adverts, it is the best app on this website and this page is not going to argue otherwise.
Their site and their store listings disagree twice: 90+ versus 170+ translations and tafsirs, and 30+ versus 80+ reciters. The methodology on this site is to quote the lower figure and say so, so the rows above use 90+ and this note records the higher claim.
Whether the app is open source, and under what licence, is not stated anywhere in their materials.
Choose Quran Habit if
Add Quran Habit only if you separately want page-accurate mushaf reading against a named edition, and a habit layer with other readers in it.
The bottom line. They win the rows their app is named for. We are a reading habit, not a study desk, and if you want the study desk it is theirs.
Questions
What makes Quran Habit one of the best Quran apps?
The table above, rather than a slogan. Against Al Quran by Greentech it gives Quran Habit two of the sixteen rows: Page-accurate mushaf and League or leaderboard. Under all of them sits one reading surface: 604 Madani pages as page images, IndoPak at 610, Naskh at 612. Theirs goes deeper into the word itself, with root, lemma and morphology we do not offer. Ours is built around coming back tomorrow.
Why does reading a little every day beat one long sitting?
Because 604 pages spread over a year is under two pages a day, and the same 604 pages in one weekend is not something anyone repeats the weekend after. A daily reading habit is arithmetic before it is anything else: a small number you keep finishes the mushaf, a large number you admire does not. Al Quran by Greentech counts days too, and the table above gives them that row.
How does Quran Habit build the habit?
Four things, all of them rows in the table above. Streaks built to survive a bad day rather than punish one. Dated khatm plans, including the seasonal ones. 33 weekly reading leagues. And word-by-word meaning while you read, with 11 of the 40 reciters carrying word-level timing. Al Quran by Greentech states a khatm plan of their own, so read both and pick the one you will open.
How does the reading league work?
You are placed in a weekly group of readers, the group is ranked by what you read that week, the readers at the top move up a league, and everyone starts fresh on Monday. There are 33 leagues in all, with a streak table and a friends table beside them. Al Quran by Greentech's materials state no ranked league, so this is one of the rows that separates the two apps.
Which languages can I read the Quran in?
43 translation languages in the app, an interface in 13, and word-by-word meaning in 14 languages, with per-word audio. Arabic, Persian and Urdu are laid out right to left rather than reversed. This website carries the same text free, with no account and nothing to sign up for. Al Quran by Greentech offers word-by-word too, and the table above says so.
Does Quran Habit or Al Quran by Greentech work without a connection?
Quran Habit states it in both of its own store listings, which is the only reason the table above ticks that row: the full Quran offline in four scripts, with offline audio for any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full, and the page-image mushafs downloaded when you want them. qht.app/getapp leads to Quran Habit on Google Play and the App Store, and those two listings are where that row is read from. Al Quran by Greentech states offline use in their own materials as well, so the table above gives that row to both apps rather than to either.
What does this website collect about me?
Nothing that identifies you. There is no analytics, no advertising and no tracker on any page of this site, the Privacy link at the foot of this page is the policy that says so in full, and what you read here stays in your browser. The app has its own policy, linked from its store listing. Al Quran by Greentech states no advertising either, so on this one neither app is asking anything of you.
What does Quran Habit cost next to Al Quran by Greentech?
Nothing is sold on this website. Reading the whole Quran here is free and needs no account, and in the app the text and the word-by-word are never put behind a paywall, in Ramadan or in any other month. The app has a paid tier, and what it covers is conveniences around the reading rather than the reading. Theirs is free with no adverts, and the tiers on their App Store listing carry no feature at all, which reads as donations.
Which rows does Al Quran by Greentech win?
One of the sixteen: Word grammar and roots. Root, lemma, grammar and morphology per word. If word-level meaning is your reason for installing anything, install theirs. The rows they state and we do not are argued above the table rather than under it, which is the order this page keeps on purpose. The rows that separate them in our favour are the page-accurate mushaf and the weekly leagues, and most of the rest the table gives to both apps. So the case for Quran Habit against this one is a narrow case and this page will not widen it: the printed page as an image, and something built to bring you back to it tomorrow. qht.app/getapp leads to Quran Habit on Google Play and the App Store.
What do Quran Habit and Al Quran by Greentech both do?
Ten rows, stated by both sides: Quran text free, No adverts, More than one script, Word-by-word meaning, Tajweed colouring, Word-level audio, Reading streak, Khatm plan, Works offline and iPhone app. This is the longest shared column on the site, so the honest question is not which app has more, it is which one you open. Reading is free in Al Quran by Greentech as well, and the table above says so.
How we compared
Every Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word) fact on this page was read from Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word)'s own public materials, their site, their store listings and their help pages, on 7 September 2026. Where their materials do not state something, this page says "not stated" rather than guessing or repeating a third-party review, and a "not stated" is never counted against them.
No store ratings and no download counts, for anyone including us: they move daily and would be stale within a week. No religious judgement about any app. We are not neutral, we make one of these two, and that is why the rows we lose are argued before our own product card rather than after it.
Where Al Quran by Greentech is measurably ahead of us, this page says so in its own section near the top, with both numbers in it.
If a fact here is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
Also: Al Quran by Greentech alternatives · all seven apps compared
Al Quran (Tafsir & by Word): official site · App Store · Google Play. Corrections: support@quranhabit.com.
Every other app and company name on this page is the trademark of its owner, used here only to say which app is being compared. Quran Habit is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Apple and the Apple Logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.