Quran Habit vs Ayah
This page is published by the makers of Quran Habit. Every Ayah fact below comes from their own public materials, read on 7 September 2026, and the rows where Ayah is ahead are argued first rather than last.
You want the Madinah mushaf, clean, fast, Arabic first, and nothing else on the screen.
Ayah is the app that has decided not to add things. One bookmark that moves as you read, "the latest edition of the Madinah Mushaf", reminders, and a membership that adds a printed-Quran theme, playback speed, pinned recitations, page-picker styles and page history. No streaks. No goals. No leaderboards. No badges. Their Play listing states the bookmark rule outright: "There is only one bookmark that moves from a verse to another to help you easily track your progress".
Every single feature Quran Habit is proud of is a thing Ayah has chosen not to have. That is not an oversight to be corrected by a comparison table, it is the design, and for a reader who finds streaks and leagues a distraction from the page it is the better design.
It also produces the emptiest table on this website: the count above the table is the whole story, and almost every cell in their column reads "not stated". We want to be precise about what that means: it is a finding about what Ayah publishes, not about what Ayah does. An app with two app languages and a deliberately short feature list has less to publish, and reading "not stated" as "missing" would be exactly the mistake this site exists to avoid.
Read from their App Store and Google Play listings on 7 September 2026.
Where Ayah beats us
On restraint. Ayah has one bookmark and no streaks, no goals and no leagues, on purpose, and for a reader who finds all of that a distraction from the page that is the better design. Everything Quran Habit adds is something Ayah has decided not to add.
What Quran Habit is
A free Quran app and website built around one idea: that the hard part is not finding the Quran, it is coming back to it tomorrow. Everything below is free to read, with no advertising anywhere. On this page the fair question is whether you want any of this at all.
- The mushaf you know. Page-accurate images, all 604 Madani pages, plus IndoPak at 610 and Naskh at 612.
- 43 translation languages and a 13-language interface, right to left for Arabic, Persian and Urdu.
- Word by word meanings in 14 languages, with per-word audio for learners.
- 40 reciters, 11 of them with word-level timing so the word highlights as it is recited.
- Tajweed colour script, and 4 scripts in all.
- Habit, not guilt. Streaks built to survive a bad day, khatm plans, and 33 weekly reading leagues.
- 84 Quranic duas and the 99 names, and the Hijri seasons the khatm plans are built around.
What Quran Habit looks like
Our own screens, from the shipping app. Ayah's own App Store screenshots are further down this page, taken from their listing.
The feature table, in this comparison's order
Their materials answer barely any of the rows below. That is a fact about what Ayah publishes, and every silent cell reads "not stated", never "no".
Yes: their materials state it. No: they state its absence, or it is checkable from outside and checkably absent. Not stated: they are silent, which is never counted as a missing feature. We are held to the same rule, and our own column is read from our own store listings the same way.
- 10 rows Quran Habit states and Ayah's materials do not
- 0 rows Ayah states and Quran Habit's do not
- 2 rows both state
- 4 rows neither states
| Feature | Quran Habit | Ayah |
|---|---|---|
| Page-accurate mushaf Does a page on screen match a page of a named printed mushaf? | Yes All 604 Madani pages as page images, plus IndoPak at 610 and Naskh at 612. | Not stated "The latest edition of the Madinah Mushaf", and on Play "the most crisp and clear text of the Quran in the original Uthmani font". How it is rendered, and whether it matches page for page, is not stated. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| More than one script Is more than one mushaf script or edition offered? | Yes 4 scripts, 10 mushaf choices. | Not stated One mushaf is named, the Madinah one. No second script is offered in their materials, and none is ruled out either. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Quran text free Can you read the whole Quran without paying? | Yes Free to install; the whole Quran is free on this website with no account. The text and the word-by-word are never put behind a paywall. | Yes Free. An "Ayah Membership" at $1.99 and $12.99 adds a printed-Quran theme, playback speed, pinned recitations, page-picker styles, page history, translation fonts and app icons. None of those is the text. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Reading streak Does it count consecutive days of reading? | Yes Built to survive a bad day rather than punish one. | Not stated Their Play listing: "There is only one bookmark that moves from a verse to another to help you easily track your progress". No streaks are mentioned. Their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| League or leaderboard Are readers ranked against other readers? | Yes 33 weekly reading leagues, plus streak and friends tables. | Not stated Not mentioned. No leaderboards, leagues or badges appear in their materials. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Khatm plan Is there a dated plan for finishing the whole Quran? | Yes Dated plans, including the seasonal ones. | Not stated Not mentioned. One bookmark and reminders are the whole progress model they describe. Their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Word-by-word meaning Is there a translation under each individual word? | Yes Word-by-word meaning in 14 languages, with per-word audio. | Not stated Not mentioned in their materials. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Tajweed colouring Is tajweed shown as colour in the reading view? | Yes A tajweed colour script, one of the four. | Not stated Not mentioned in their materials. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Word-level audio Is audio aligned to single words, not only to whole ayat? | Yes 11 of the 40 reciters carry word-level timing. | Not stated Not stated. Playback speed and pinned recitations are membership features. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| No adverts Is the free tier free of advertising? | Yes None anywhere, and Google Play carries no "Contains ads" label on our listing. | Not stated Not stated in their current materials, and no "Contains ads" label on Play. Their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Works offline Do their materials state that reading works with no connection? | Yes Both our store listings state it: the full Quran offline in four scripts, and any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full. The page-image mushafs are downloads. | Not stated Not stated in their materials. Ayah's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Word grammar and roots Are root, lemma, morphology or verb forms shown per word? | No No root, no lemma, no morphology, no verb forms. We give the meaning and stop. | Not stated Not mentioned in their materials. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Prayer times in the app Does the same app also give prayer times, Athan or Qibla? | No Not in the app: no prayer-time screen, no qibla. They exist on this website only. | Not stated Not stated. They describe a reading and listening app. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Checks your recitation Does it listen to you recite and flag mistakes? | No No speech recognition of any kind. The app never listens to you. | Not stated Not stated. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Source code public Is the source published under a licence anyone can read? | No Closed source. | Not stated Not stated in their materials. Ayah's own site, read 7 September 2026 |
| iPhone app Is there an App Store listing today? | Yes On Google Play and the App Store. | Yes A live App Store listing, and iOS is where the app began. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
The Ayah documents every row above was read from
- their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026
- their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
- Ayah's own site, read 7 September 2026
A row rests on one of these or it is not here. A claim from a help centre with no stable address is named in the cell instead of linked.
Page-accurate mushaf
Both claim the Madinah mushaf and only one of us says how. Theirs is "the latest edition of the Madinah Mushaf" and, on Play, "the most crisp and clear text of the Quran in the original Uthmani font", with no statement of how it is rendered or whether it matches page for page. Ours is 604 page images of the Madani mushaf, and the page number on screen is the page number in the book.
More than one script
Ours, on a technicality worth stating honestly: they name one mushaf, we name four scripts and ten mushaf choices. Their materials do not rule out a second script, they simply do not mention one, so this row is "not stated" for them rather than "no".
Quran text free
Both. Their membership at $1.99 and $12.99 adds themes, playback speed, pinned recitations and page history, and their help centre lists them; none of it is the text. Ours is free to read on the app and free in full on this website.
Reading streak
Ours, and this is the whole difference between the two apps. Theirs has one bookmark by design. If you have ever closed an app because a streak made you feel watched, that sentence is the reason to install theirs instead of ours.
League or leaderboard
Ours, and read the row above before you count it as a win. 33 weekly leagues is exactly the sort of thing Ayah has decided not to build.
What Ayah shows on its own listing
Their images, not ours. These are the first 3 screenshots on Ayah's App Store listing, read on 8 September 2026. They are what the publisher chose to show, and none of them was taken from inside the app.
Choose Ayah if
Install Ayah if the page is the point and everything else is noise. It is the most restrained app in this comparison and restraint is a feature, not a gap.
Choose Quran Habit if
Install Quran Habit if the thing standing between you and the page is not the page, it is remembering to open it. That is what the streaks, plans and leagues are for, and they are exactly what Ayah has left out.
The bottom line. Ayah removed everything we added. Whether that is the right call is a question about you, not about the two apps.
Questions
What makes Quran Habit one of the best Quran apps?
The table above, rather than a slogan. Against Ayah it gives Quran Habit ten of the sixteen rows: No adverts, Page-accurate mushaf, More than one script, Word-by-word meaning, Tajweed colouring, Word-level audio, Reading streak, Khatm plan, League or leaderboard and Works offline. Under all of them sits one reading surface: 604 Madani pages as page images, IndoPak at 610, Naskh at 612. Ayah leaves all of it out on purpose, and for a reader who wants the page and nothing else that is the better design.
Why does reading a little every day beat one long sitting?
Because 604 pages spread over a year is under two pages a day, and the same 604 pages in one weekend is not something anyone repeats the weekend after. A daily reading habit is arithmetic before it is anything else: a small number you keep finishes the mushaf, a large number you admire does not. Ayah's own materials mention no streak at all, so the table leaves that row unclaimed.
How does Quran Habit build the habit?
Four things, all of them rows in the table above. Streaks built to survive a bad day rather than punish one. Dated khatm plans, including the seasonal ones. 33 weekly reading leagues. And word-by-word meaning while you read, with 11 of the 40 reciters carrying word-level timing. No khatm plan appears in Ayah's materials, which is why that row sits on our side of the table.
How does the reading league work?
You are placed in a weekly group of readers, the group is ranked by what you read that week, the readers at the top move up a league, and everyone starts fresh on Monday. There are 33 leagues in all, with a streak table and a friends table beside them. Ayah's materials state no ranked league, so this is one of the rows that separates the two apps.
Which languages can I read the Quran in?
43 translation languages in the app, an interface in 13, and word-by-word meaning in 14 languages, with per-word audio. Arabic, Persian and Urdu are laid out right to left rather than reversed. This website carries the same text free, with no account and nothing to sign up for. Word-by-word meaning is not something Ayah's materials claim, so that row is ours in the table above.
Does Quran Habit or Ayah work without a connection?
Quran Habit states it in both of its own store listings, which is the only reason the table above ticks that row: the full Quran offline in four scripts, with offline audio for any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full, and the page-image mushafs downloaded when you want them. qht.app/getapp leads to Quran Habit on Google Play and the App Store, and those two listings are where that row is read from. Ayah's materials state nothing about offline scope, so the table records their silence as silence and gives the row to us on ours.
What does this website collect about me?
Nothing that identifies you. There is no analytics, no advertising and no tracker on any page of this site, the Privacy link at the foot of this page is the policy that says so in full, and what you read here stays in your browser. The app has its own policy, linked from its store listing. Ayah makes no ad-free claim either way, which the table records as not stated rather than as a fault.
What does Quran Habit cost next to Ayah?
Nothing is sold on this website. Reading the whole Quran here is free and needs no account, and in the app the text and the word-by-word are never put behind a paywall, in Ramadan or in any other month. The app has a paid tier, and what it covers is conveniences around the reading rather than the reading. Their membership adds themes, playback speed and app icons, and their help centre lists them one by one.
Which rows does Ayah win?
None of the sixteen, on their own published materials, and that is a smaller claim than it sounds: a row goes to whoever states it, and silence is never counted against anybody here. Their restraint is the argument for them: one bookmark, no streaks and no leagues, by choice rather than by omission. If the page and a bookmark are all you want, theirs is the app and nothing here changes that. If you want more under the page, the table gives Quran Habit the page-accurate mushaf, more than one script, word-by-word meaning with word-level audio, a khatm plan, the streak, the leagues and the offline line, and it gives them to us because their materials state none of those, not because the app lacks them. qht.app/getapp leads to Quran Habit on Google Play and the App Store.
What do Quran Habit and Ayah both do?
Two rows, stated by both sides: Quran text free and iPhone app. Both are free to read and both are on the App Store, and past that they are built for different readers. Reading is free in Ayah as well, and the table above says so.
How we compared
Every Ayah fact on this page was read from Ayah's own public materials, their site, their store listings and their help pages, on 7 September 2026. Where their materials do not state something, this page says "not stated" rather than guessing or repeating a third-party review, and a "not stated" is never counted against them.
No store ratings and no download counts, for anyone including us: they move daily and would be stale within a week. No religious judgement about any app. We are not neutral, we make one of these two, and that is why the rows we lose are argued before our own product card rather than after it.
Where Ayah is measurably ahead of us, this page says so in its own section near the top, with both numbers in it.
If a fact here is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
Also: Ayah alternatives · all seven apps compared
Ayah: official site · App Store · Google Play. Corrections: support@quranhabit.com.
Every other app and company name on this page is the trademark of its owner, used here only to say which app is being compared. Quran Habit is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Apple and the Apple Logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.