Skip to content

Quran Habit vs Quran.com

This page is published by the makers of Quran Habit. Every Quran.com fact below comes from their own public materials, read on 7 September 2026, and the rows where Quran.com is ahead are argued first rather than last.

You are probably here because Quran.com is the one everybody recommends, and you want to know whether there is any reason to install something else.

There is an awkward version of this page and an honest one, and the honest one is shorter. Quran.com is free, has no adverts and no in-app purchases, is open source on both platforms, is run by a registered nonprofit, and renders its pages from King Fahd Quran Printing Complex images. Quran Habit is a product with in-app purchases behind it and closed source. On cost, on independence and on who stands behind the text, they win, and no arrangement of the rows below changes that.

So this page is not an attempt to talk you out of Quran.com. It is an attempt to answer one narrower question: if you already read on Quran.com and still do not read every day, is there anything in Quran Habit that addresses the reason. That is a question about habit, not about text, and it is the only ground on which the two apps differ much.

Everything below their column comes from their own about page and their two store listings, read on 7 September 2026.

Where Quran.com beats us

On cost and independence, comprehensively. Quran.com is free with no in-app purchases at all, describes itself as "free of charge and without commercial interests", is open source on both platforms, and is run by a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that takes donations. Quran Habit is a product with in-app purchases behind it, and it is closed source. Their mobile app also renders page images from the King Fahd Quran Printing Complex, which is the same kind of page-accurate reading we build around, so that is not a difference between us either.

What Quran Habit is

A free Quran app and website built around one idea: that the hard part is not finding the Quran, it is coming back to it tomorrow. Everything below is free to read, with no advertising anywhere. On this page, the only rows that separate the two apps are the habit rows, so read those and skip the rest.

  • The mushaf you know. Page-accurate images, all 604 Madani pages, plus IndoPak at 610 and Naskh at 612.
  • 43 translation languages and a 13-language interface, right to left for Arabic, Persian and Urdu.
  • Word by word meanings in 14 languages, with per-word audio for learners.
  • 40 reciters, 11 of them with word-level timing so the word highlights as it is recited.
  • Tajweed colour script, and 4 scripts in all.
  • Habit, not guilt. Streaks built to survive a bad day, khatm plans, and 33 weekly reading leagues.
  • 84 Quranic duas and the 99 names, and the Hijri seasons the khatm plans are built around.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play Quran Habit is on Google Play and the App Store.

What Quran Habit looks like

Our own screens, from the shipping app. Quran.com's own App Store screenshots are further down this page, taken from their listing.

The habit layer: your journey, growth tier and badges, inside the app rather than on a website The habit layer: your journey, growth tier and badges, inside the app rather than on a website
The habit layer: your journey, growth tier and badges, inside the app rather than on a website
A khatm plan with a dated map: day 4 of 30, and where you are on it A khatm plan with a dated map: day 4 of 30, and where you are on it
A khatm plan with a dated map: day 4 of 30, and where you are on it
The home screen the streak lives on, with today's reading and the seasonal plans one tap away The home screen the streak lives on, with today's reading and the seasonal plans one tap away
The home screen the streak lives on, with today's reading and the seasonal plans one tap away
The Ramadan plan on its own calendar, with the pages a day and the finish date worked out The Ramadan plan on its own calendar, with the pages a day and the finish date worked out
The Ramadan plan on its own calendar, with the pages a day and the finish date worked out
And the record the habit leaves behind: days active, best streak, average per day, and every month you have read in And the record the habit leaves behind: days active, best streak, average per day, and every month you have read in
And the record the habit leaves behind: days active, best streak, average per day, and every month you have read in

The feature table, in this comparison's order

Read this table knowing the first three rows go to them.

Yes: their materials state it. No: they state its absence, or it is checkable from outside and checkably absent. Not stated: they are silent, which is never counted as a missing feature. We are held to the same rule, and our own column is read from our own store listings the same way.

  • 6 rows Quran Habit states and Quran.com's materials do not
  • 1 row Quran.com states and Quran Habit's do not
  • 6 rows both state
  • 3 rows neither states

The one row we lose: Source code public.

Feature Quran Habit Quran.com
Quran text free Can you read the whole Quran without paying? Yes Free to install; the whole Quran is free on this website with no account. The text and the word-by-word are never put behind a paywall. Yes Free, and their about page says "free of charge and without commercial interests". Neither store listing shows an in-app purchase. Quran.com's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
No adverts Is the free tier free of advertising? Yes None anywhere, and Google Play carries no "Contains ads" label on our listing. Yes Their iOS listing calls it "a beautiful, and ad-free mushaf app", and Play carries no "Contains ads" label. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Source code public Is the source published under a licence anyone can read? No Closed source. Yes Both apps are open source: Android under GPL-3.0, iOS on QuranEngine under Apache-2.0. Quran.com's own site and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Page-accurate mushaf Does a page on screen match a page of a named printed mushaf? Yes All 604 Madani pages as page images, plus IndoPak at 610 and Naskh at 612. Yes Android: "crystal clear Madani compliant images". Their iOS release notes state "Page images are from the King Fahd Quran Printing Complex". Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Reading streak Does it count consecutive days of reading? Yes Built to survive a bad day rather than punish one. Not stated Their about page lists "Reading Progress Tracking and Goals" as a WEBSITE feature. Neither mobile listing mentions streaks. Quran.com's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Khatm plan Is there a dated plan for finishing the whole Quran? Yes Dated plans, including the seasonal ones. Not stated No khatm or completion plan is named for the mobile apps. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
League or leaderboard Are readers ranked against other readers? Yes 33 weekly reading leagues, plus streak and friends tables. Not stated Not stated. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
More than one script Is more than one mushaf script or edition offered? Yes 4 scripts, 10 mushaf choices. Yes Madani mushafs 1439 and 1441, plus an "experimental IndoPak 15-Line layout in the Naskh style". Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026
Word-level audio Is audio aligned to single words, not only to whole ayat? Yes 11 of the 40 reciters carry word-level timing. Yes Their about page names "follow along word by word" as an audio feature, which is word-level alignment. Quran.com's own site, read 7 September 2026
Word-by-word meaning Is there a translation under each individual word? Yes Word-by-word meaning in 14 languages, with per-word audio. Not stated On their website, yes: the footer of their about page says Quran.com provides "word-by-word translation". For the mobile apps their materials name only "follow along word by word" as an audio feature, and neither store listing claims a word-by-word display, so for the apps this is not stated rather than absent. Quran.com's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Tajweed colouring Is tajweed shown as colour in the reading view? Yes A tajweed colour script, one of the four. Not stated Not stated. Neither listing nor their about page claims tajweed colouring for the mobile apps. A search of the iOS page does hit the word, inside a user review asking for it. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Word grammar and roots Are root, lemma, morphology or verb forms shown per word? No No root, no lemma, no morphology, no verb forms. We give the meaning and stop. Not stated Not stated for the mobile apps. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Works offline Do their materials state that reading works with no connection? Yes Both our store listings state it: the full Quran offline in four scripts, and any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full. The page-image mushafs are downloads. Not stated Not stated. Neither current listing uses the word "offline" or "download", and their iOS release notes list "audio streaming". Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Prayer times in the app Does the same app also give prayer times, Athan or Qibla? No Not in the app: no prayer-time screen, no qibla. They exist on this website only. Not stated Not stated. They describe a mushaf and audio app. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Checks your recitation Does it listen to you recite and flag mistakes? No No speech recognition of any kind. The app never listens to you. Not stated Not stated. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
iPhone app Is there an App Store listing today? Yes On Google Play and the App Store. Yes A live App Store listing. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026
The Quran.com documents every row above was read from

A row rests on one of these or it is not here. A claim from a help centre with no stable address is named in the cell instead of linked.

Quran text free

Both are free to read. The difference is what stands behind the word "free": theirs is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit funded by donations, ours is a company that sells an in-app upgrade. Their arrangement has fewer ways to go wrong later, and that is a fair thing to weigh.

No adverts

Neither app shows advertising. Their iOS listing puts it in the product description, ours is checkable from the absence of the "Contains ads" label on Google Play. This row is a draw and it should be read as one.

Source code public

Theirs is public: Android under GPL-3.0, iOS on QuranEngine under Apache-2.0. Ours is not. If being able to read the code that renders the text matters to you, this row ends the comparison in their favour on its own.

Page-accurate mushaf

Both render real page images rather than reflowed text, and both name a printing complex as the source. This is the row where most Quran apps differ from these two, and it is not a row where these two differ from each other.

Reading streak

Here is the actual difference. Their about page lists reading progress and goals as a feature of the WEBSITE. Neither of their mobile listings mentions a streak, a goal or a plan. Quran Habit puts the habit layer in the app, where the reading happens, and builds it to survive the day you miss.

Khatm plan

Their mobile materials name no completion plan. Ours schedules one against a date, including the seasonal plans people actually start: Ramadan, Rajab, Shaban, Dhul Hijjah.

League or leaderboard

Not a feature their materials mention. We run 33 weekly leagues. Whether that helps or irritates you is a matter of temperament, and if it irritates you, the row above matters more than this one.

What Quran.com shows on its own listing

Their images, not ours. These are the first 3 screenshots on Quran.com's App Store listing, read on 8 September 2026. They are what the publisher chose to show, and none of them was taken from inside the app.

Quran.com screenshot 1 of 3, from its App Store listing
Image: Quran Foundation, Inc, from the Quran.com App Store listing
Quran.com screenshot 2 of 3, from its App Store listing
Image: Quran Foundation, Inc, from the Quran.com App Store listing
Quran.com screenshot 3 of 3, from its App Store listing
Image: Quran Foundation, Inc, from the Quran.com App Store listing

Choose Quran.com if

Install Quran.com. It is free forever, it is nonprofit, it is open source, its pages come from the King Fahd Quran Printing Complex, and if the reading itself is what you want, that is the whole job done at no cost and with nobody to answer to.

Both apps are open source (Android GPL-3.0, iOS QuranEngine Apache-2.0).

The richer study and habit features are on the website, not advertised for the mobile apps.

Choose Quran Habit if

The one reason to add Quran Habit is that you already have a good reader and still do not open it most days. The streak, the dated khatm plan and the weekly league exist for that and for nothing else.

The bottom line. If you are choosing a reader, choose theirs. If you are trying to fix a habit, that is a different problem and it is the one we built for.

Questions

What makes Quran Habit one of the best Quran apps?

The table above, rather than a slogan. Against Quran.com it gives Quran Habit six of the sixteen rows: Word-by-word meaning, Tajweed colouring, Reading streak, Khatm plan, League or leaderboard and Works offline. Under all of them sits one reading surface: 604 Madani pages as page images, IndoPak at 610, Naskh at 612. On the mushaf itself the two apps are close, so the rows that separate them are the habit rows and nothing else.

Why does reading a little every day beat one long sitting?

Because 604 pages spread over a year is under two pages a day, and the same 604 pages in one weekend is not something anyone repeats the weekend after. A daily reading habit is arithmetic before it is anything else: a small number you keep finishes the mushaf, a large number you admire does not. Quran.com's own materials mention no streak at all, so the table leaves that row unclaimed.

How does Quran Habit build the habit?

Four things, all of them rows in the table above. Streaks built to survive a bad day rather than punish one. Dated khatm plans, including the seasonal ones. 33 weekly reading leagues. And word-by-word meaning while you read, with 11 of the 40 reciters carrying word-level timing. No khatm plan appears in Quran.com's materials, which is why that row sits on our side of the table.

How does the reading league work?

You are placed in a weekly group of readers, the group is ranked by what you read that week, the readers at the top move up a league, and everyone starts fresh on Monday. There are 33 leagues in all, with a streak table and a friends table beside them. Quran.com's materials state no ranked league, so this is one of the rows that separates the two apps.

Which languages can I read the Quran in?

43 translation languages in the app, an interface in 13, and word-by-word meaning in 14 languages, with per-word audio. Arabic, Persian and Urdu are laid out right to left rather than reversed. This website carries the same text free, with no account and nothing to sign up for. Word-by-word meaning is not something Quran.com's materials claim, so that row is ours in the table above.

Does Quran Habit or Quran.com work without a connection?

Quran Habit states it in both of its own store listings, which is the only reason the table above ticks that row: the full Quran offline in four scripts, with offline audio for any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full, and the page-image mushafs downloaded when you want them. qht.app/getapp leads to Quran Habit on Google Play and the App Store, and those two listings are where that row is read from. Quran.com's materials state nothing about offline scope, so the table records their silence as silence and gives the row to us on ours.

What does this website collect about me?

Nothing that identifies you. There is no analytics, no advertising and no tracker on any page of this site, the Privacy link at the foot of this page is the policy that says so in full, and what you read here stays in your browser. The app has its own policy, linked from its store listing. Quran.com states no advertising either, so on this one neither app is asking anything of you.

What does Quran Habit cost next to Quran.com?

Nothing is sold on this website. Reading the whole Quran here is free and needs no account, and in the app the text and the word-by-word are never put behind a paywall, in Ramadan or in any other month. The app has a paid tier, and what it covers is conveniences around the reading rather than the reading. Theirs is free with nothing to buy at all, which is a stronger position than ours and the table says so.

Which rows does Quran.com win?

One of the sixteen: Source code public. Their code is public and ours is not, they are a nonprofit taking donations, and neither of those is a row we can win later. The rows they state and we do not are argued above the table rather than under it, which is the order this page keeps on purpose. If open code is not what you are choosing on, the rows that go the other way are streaks, dated khatm plans, the weekly leagues, word-by-word meaning, tajweed colouring and the offline line, none of which their materials state. The page-accurate mushaf row belongs to both apps, so this is an argument about what sits under the page rather than about the page itself. qht.app/getapp leads to Quran Habit on Google Play and the App Store.

What do Quran Habit and Quran.com both do?

Six rows, stated by both sides: Quran text free, No adverts, Page-accurate mushaf, More than one script, Word-level audio and iPhone app. That is most of the reading, which is why this page argues habit rather than text. Reading is free in Quran.com as well, and the table above says so.

How we compared

Every Quran.com fact on this page was read from Quran.com's own public materials, their site, their store listings and their help pages, on 7 September 2026. Where their materials do not state something, this page says "not stated" rather than guessing or repeating a third-party review, and a "not stated" is never counted against them.

No store ratings and no download counts, for anyone including us: they move daily and would be stale within a week. No religious judgement about any app. We are not neutral, we make one of these two, and that is why the rows we lose are argued before our own product card rather than after it.

Where Quran.com is measurably ahead of us, this page says so in its own section near the top, with both numbers in it.

If a fact here is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will correct it.

Also: Quran.com alternatives · all seven apps compared

Quran.com: official site · App Store · Google Play. Corrections: support@quranhabit.com.

Every other app and company name on this page is the trademark of its owner, used here only to say which app is being compared. Quran Habit is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Apple and the Apple Logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.

The Quran, word by word, and a daily reading habit in one free app.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play