Skip to content

Quran Habit vs Quran Majeed

This page is published by the makers of Quran Habit. Every Quran Majeed fact below comes from their own public materials, read on 7 September 2026, and the rows where Quran Majeed is ahead are argued first rather than last.

You have probably had Quran Majeed installed for years, or you are looking for something that runs on a watch, a car screen and a desktop as well as a phone.

Quran Majeed has been shipping since the first years of the App Store, from Pakistan Data Management Services in Karachi, and it reaches phone, watch, car and web. Quran Habit arrived on Google Play on 5 September 2026 and on the App Store on 7 September 2026, and runs on phones. On track record and on how many screens it reaches, they win, and a new app claiming otherwise would be worth ignoring.

The comparison gets interesting for a different reason. When we re-read their materials on 7 September 2026 to fill the table below, most of the rows came back empty. Not "no", empty: their site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing between them do not state an offline mode, do not state a tajweed feature, do not claim a page-for-page match to a printed edition, and do not describe what the $49.99 "Full Upgrade" in their App Store purchase list actually changes.

That last one deserves saying plainly, because $49.99 is a lot to ask without a sentence explaining it. We are not claiming the upgrade is bad value. We are saying that nothing they publish tells you what it is.

One correction we owe them, and it is ours again: an earlier version of this page said Apple's list for the app shows one paid item and no subscriptions. It shows both. We had read the promoted purchase carousel at the top of their listing, which hides subscriptions, instead of the In-App Purchases list further down. The rows below now match that list, and the dated note under "Choose Quran Majeed if" says when it was read.

Where Quran Majeed beats us

On how long it has been running, and on where it runs. Quran Majeed has been shipping since the first years of the App Store and reaches phone, watch, car and desktop. Quran Habit is new, and it runs on phones only.

What Quran Habit is

A free Quran app and website built around one idea: that the hard part is not finding the Quran, it is coming back to it tomorrow. Everything below is free to read, with no advertising anywhere. On this page the useful comparison is between a mature catalogue and a stated one.

  • The mushaf you know. Page-accurate images, all 604 Madani pages, plus IndoPak at 610 and Naskh at 612.
  • 43 translation languages and a 13-language interface, right to left for Arabic, Persian and Urdu.
  • Word by word meanings in 14 languages, with per-word audio for learners.
  • 40 reciters, 11 of them with word-level timing so the word highlights as it is recited.
  • Tajweed colour script, and 4 scripts in all.
  • Habit, not guilt. Streaks built to survive a bad day, khatm plans, and 33 weekly reading leagues.
  • 84 Quranic duas and the 99 names, and the Hijri seasons the khatm plans are built around.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play Quran Habit is on Google Play and the App Store.

What Quran Habit looks like

Our own screens, from the shipping app. Quran Majeed's own App Store screenshots are further down this page, taken from their listing.

The mushaf tab: the page and juz you stopped on, and every surah a tap away The mushaf tab: the page and juz you stopped on, and every surah a tap away
The mushaf tab: the page and juz you stopped on, and every surah a tap away
The tafsir library, with each edition named and sized before you download it The tafsir library, with each edition named and sized before you download it
The tafsir library, with each edition named and sized before you download it
The home screen, where the reading you have not finished is the first thing on it The home screen, where the reading you have not finished is the first thing on it
The home screen, where the reading you have not finished is the first thing on it
A khatm plan with a date on it, and the day you are on marked on the map A khatm plan with a date on it, and the day you are on marked on the map
A khatm plan with a date on it, and the day you are on marked on the map
The 99 names, with a name of the day and a search across the list The 99 names, with a name of the day and a search across the list
The 99 names, with a name of the day and a search across the list

The feature table, in this comparison's order

This table has more "not stated" cells for them than any other page here, and that is a fact about their published materials, not about their app.

Yes: their materials state it. No: they state its absence, or it is checkable from outside and checkably absent. Not stated: they are silent, which is never counted as a missing feature. We are held to the same rule, and our own column is read from our own store listings the same way.

  • 9 rows Quran Habit states and Quran Majeed's materials do not
  • 0 rows Quran Majeed states and Quran Habit's do not
  • 3 rows both state
  • 4 rows neither states
Feature Quran Habit Quran Majeed
More than one script Is more than one mushaf script or edition offered? Yes 4 scripts, 10 mushaf choices. Yes Uthmanic, Mushaf and Indo-Pak scripts on Play; the App Store names "the elegant Uthmanic script". Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Quran text free Can you read the whole Quran without paying? Yes Free to install; the whole Quran is free on this website with no account. The text and the word-by-word are never put behind a paywall. Yes Free to read, with a "Quran Majeed Full Upgrade" at $49.99 and weekly, monthly and yearly subscriptions from $0.99 to $29.99 on the US App Store. What any of them changes is not stated anywhere in their materials. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026
No adverts Is the free tier free of advertising? Yes None anywhere, and Google Play carries no "Contains ads" label on our listing. No Google Play carries the "Contains ads" label and their App Store age rating declares "Contains: Advertising". Whether any of the purchases removes them is not stated. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Works offline Do their materials state that reading works with no connection? Yes Both our store listings state it: the full Quran offline in four scripts, and any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full. The page-image mushafs are downloads. Not stated Not stated. Their site, App Store listing and Play listing do not use the word. Quran Majeed's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Page-accurate mushaf Does a page on screen match a page of a named printed mushaf? Yes All 604 Madani pages as page images, plus IndoPak at 610 and Naskh at 612. Not stated Their iOS release notes add a "17 lines Quran Indopak view" and later a "New 18-lines Indo-Pak Quran view", but no page-for-page match to a named printed edition is claimed. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Reading streak Does it count consecutive days of reading? Yes Built to survive a bad day rather than punish one. Not stated Not stated. Bookmarking with iCloud sync is the progress feature their materials name. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Khatm plan Is there a dated plan for finishing the whole Quran? Yes Dated plans, including the seasonal ones. Not stated No khatm planner is stated in their current materials. Quran Majeed's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
League or leaderboard Are readers ranked against other readers? Yes 33 weekly reading leagues, plus streak and friends tables. Not stated Not stated. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Word-by-word meaning Is there a translation under each individual word? Yes Word-by-word meaning in 14 languages, with per-word audio. Not stated Not claimed. They offer a root and affix SEARCH, which finds words rather than translating each one in place. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Word grammar and roots Are root, lemma, morphology or verb forms shown per word? No No root, no lemma, no morphology, no verb forms. We give the meaning and stop. Not stated The root and affix search is the closest thing their materials name, and it is a search feature. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Tajweed colouring Is tajweed shown as colour in the reading view? Yes A tajweed colour script, one of the four. Not stated No first-party tajweed-colouring claim on their site or either store listing. Quran Majeed's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Word-level audio Is audio aligned to single words, not only to whole ayat? Yes 11 of the 40 reciters carry word-level timing. Not stated Not stated. Audio repeat options are offered "to help with memorization". Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Prayer times in the app Does the same app also give prayer times, Athan or Qibla? No Not in the app: no prayer-time screen, no qibla. They exist on this website only. Not stated Not recorded in the rows we read. Live Makkah and Madinah streams are named; prayer times are not. Quran Majeed's own site and their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026
Checks your recitation Does it listen to you recite and flag mistakes? No No speech recognition of any kind. The app never listens to you. Not stated Not stated. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
Source code public Is the source published under a licence anyone can read? No Closed source. Not stated Not stated in their materials. Quran Majeed's own site, read 7 September 2026
iPhone app Is there an App Store listing today? Yes On Google Play and the App Store. Yes A live App Store listing, and among the oldest here. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026
The Quran Majeed documents every row above was read from

A row rests on one of these or it is not here. A claim from a help centre with no stable address is named in the cell instead of linked.

More than one script

Both. Theirs are Uthmanic, Mushaf and Indo-Pak, and their release notes add a "17 lines Quran Indopak view" and later a "New 18-lines Indo-Pak Quran view"; ours are four scripts across ten mushaf choices. Neither of us is short of scripts and this row is a draw.

Quran text free

Both are free to read. Theirs carries a "Quran Majeed Full Upgrade" at $49.99 on the US App Store, described there only as "Upgrades to the full version of Quran Majeed", plus weekly, monthly and yearly subscriptions from $0.99 to $29.99. What any of them changes is stated nowhere in their materials, and their own website states no prices at all.

No adverts

Ours. Google Play carries the "Contains ads" label on their listing and their App Store age rating declares "Contains: Advertising". Whether any of the purchases removes the adverts is not stated either. Our listing carries no ads label.

Works offline

Theirs does not state one. Their site and both store listings do not use the word, which for a long-established offline-first veteran is a surprising silence, and we are recording it as silence rather than reading anything into it. Ours states it on both stores.

Page-accurate mushaf

Ours, on the narrow question the row asks. They offer several scripts and a 15-line display option, but no page-for-page match to a named printed edition is claimed anywhere. Quran Habit ships the 604 Madani pages as page images and names the edition.

Reading streak

Ours. Their materials name bookmarking with iCloud sync and audio repeat "to help with memorization", and no streak, goal, plan or reminder. If a habit layer is what you are missing after years with Quran Majeed, that is the gap.

What Quran Majeed shows on its own listing

Their images, not ours. These are the first 3 screenshots on Quran Majeed's App Store listing, read on 8 September 2026. They are what the publisher chose to show, and none of them was taken from inside the app.

Quran Majeed screenshot 1 of 3, from its App Store listing
Image: Pakistan Data Management Services, from the Quran Majeed App Store listing
Quran Majeed screenshot 2 of 3, from its App Store listing
Image: Pakistan Data Management Services, from the Quran Majeed App Store listing
Quran Majeed screenshot 3 of 3, from its App Store listing
Image: Pakistan Data Management Services, from the Quran Majeed App Store listing

Choose Quran Majeed if

Stay with Quran Majeed if you value fifteen years of shipping and you use it on a watch, in a car or on a desktop. Those are things we do not have and will not have soon.

⚠️ Corrected 10 September 2026, the second correction on this row and in the opposite direction. On 5 Sep the row lost the weekly, monthly and yearly subscriptions it had listed, on the ground that Apple's list held one paid item and no subscriptions. That reading came from the promoted purchase carousel at the top of their listing, which shows the $49.99 upgrade and the free audio packs and no subscriptions at all. The In-App Purchases list on the same page holds ten items, and five of them are subscriptions from $0.99 to $29.99. The subscriptions are back, from that list. The offline and streak claims stay gone: they came from a Pakdata blog that no longer resolves.

Choose Quran Habit if

Move, or add ours, if you want to know what you are getting before you pay for it, and if a reading habit rather than a bookmark is what you are actually after.

The bottom line. Their app is older and reaches more screens. Their materials say less about it than any other app on this site, including about a $49.99 purchase.

Questions

What makes Quran Habit one of the best Quran apps?

The table above, rather than a slogan. Against Quran Majeed it gives Quran Habit nine of the sixteen rows: No adverts, Page-accurate mushaf, Word-by-word meaning, Tajweed colouring, Word-level audio, Reading streak, Khatm plan, League or leaderboard and Works offline. Under all of them sits one reading surface: 604 Madani pages as page images, IndoPak at 610, Naskh at 612. They have been shipping since the first years of the App Store and run on watch, car and desktop, which is a kind of lead a table does not show.

Why does reading a little every day beat one long sitting?

Because 604 pages spread over a year is under two pages a day, and the same 604 pages in one weekend is not something anyone repeats the weekend after. A daily reading habit is arithmetic before it is anything else: a small number you keep finishes the mushaf, a large number you admire does not. Quran Majeed's own materials mention no streak at all, so the table leaves that row unclaimed.

How does Quran Habit build the habit?

Four things, all of them rows in the table above. Streaks built to survive a bad day rather than punish one. Dated khatm plans, including the seasonal ones. 33 weekly reading leagues. And word-by-word meaning while you read, with 11 of the 40 reciters carrying word-level timing. No khatm plan appears in Quran Majeed's materials, which is why that row sits on our side of the table.

How does the reading league work?

You are placed in a weekly group of readers, the group is ranked by what you read that week, the readers at the top move up a league, and everyone starts fresh on Monday. There are 33 leagues in all, with a streak table and a friends table beside them. Quran Majeed's materials state no ranked league, so this is one of the rows that separates the two apps.

Which languages can I read the Quran in?

43 translation languages in the app, an interface in 13, and word-by-word meaning in 14 languages, with per-word audio. Arabic, Persian and Urdu are laid out right to left rather than reversed. This website carries the same text free, with no account and nothing to sign up for. Word-by-word meaning is not something Quran Majeed's materials claim, so that row is ours in the table above.

Does Quran Habit or Quran Majeed work without a connection?

Quran Habit states it in both of its own store listings, which is the only reason the table above ticks that row: the full Quran offline in four scripts, with offline audio for any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full, and the page-image mushafs downloaded when you want them. qht.app/getapp leads to Quran Habit on Google Play and the App Store, and those two listings are where that row is read from. Quran Majeed's materials state nothing about offline scope, so the table records their silence as silence and gives the row to us on ours.

What does this website collect about me?

Nothing that identifies you. There is no analytics, no advertising and no tracker on any page of this site, the Privacy link at the foot of this page is the policy that says so in full, and what you read here stays in your browser. The app has its own policy, linked from its store listing. The table above marks Quran Majeed as carrying adverts, and names the document that row was read from.

What does Quran Habit cost next to Quran Majeed?

Nothing is sold on this website. Reading the whole Quran here is free and needs no account, and in the app the text and the word-by-word are never put behind a paywall, in Ramadan or in any other month. The app has a paid tier, and what it covers is conveniences around the reading rather than the reading. Their one in-app purchase is on the App Store listing, and what it changes is not stated anywhere in their materials.

Which rows does Quran Majeed win?

None of the sixteen, on their own published materials, and that is a smaller claim than it sounds: a row goes to whoever states it, and silence is never counted against anybody here. They reach a watch, a car and a desktop, and they have been shipping since the first years of the App Store. Neither of those is a row this table has. Their reach across watch, car and desktop is real and this table has no row for it. Where the table does separate them, the adverts row and every habit row go to Quran Habit, along with the page-accurate mushaf, word-by-word meaning, tajweed colouring and the offline line. The rows neither app states, word grammar and prayer times among them, stay where they are. qht.app/getapp leads to Quran Habit on Google Play and the App Store.

What do Quran Habit and Quran Majeed both do?

Three rows, stated by both sides: Quran text free, More than one script and iPhone app. Both are free to read and both offer more than one script, and after that the columns separate. Reading is free in Quran Majeed as well, and the table above says so.

How we compared

Every Quran Majeed fact on this page was read from Quran Majeed's own public materials, their site, their store listings and their help pages, on 7 September 2026. Where their materials do not state something, this page says "not stated" rather than guessing or repeating a third-party review, and a "not stated" is never counted against them.

No store ratings and no download counts, for anyone including us: they move daily and would be stale within a week. No religious judgement about any app. We are not neutral, we make one of these two, and that is why the rows we lose are argued before our own product card rather than after it.

Where Quran Majeed is measurably ahead of us, this page says so in its own section near the top, with both numbers in it.

If a fact here is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will correct it.

Also: Quran Majeed alternatives · all seven apps compared

Quran Majeed: official site · App Store · Google Play. Corrections: support@quranhabit.com.

Every other app and company name on this page is the trademark of its owner, used here only to say which app is being compared. Quran Habit is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Apple and the Apple Logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.

The Quran, word by word, and a daily reading habit in one free app.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play