Quran Habit vs Tarteel AI
This page is published by the makers of Quran Habit. Every Tarteel AI fact below comes from their own public materials, read on 7 September 2026, and the rows where Tarteel AI is ahead are argued first rather than last.
A note on the name: tarteel (ترتيل) is an ordinary Arabic word for measured, unhurried recitation, and it is used as a brand name in other industries too. This page is only about the Quran app made by Tarteel Inc.
Most people who reach this page are memorising, and want to know whether an app can hear their mistakes. One in a few is looking for a perfume.
The note above needs one addition, because it is the part that actually sends people to the wrong page: in Europe the word is a brand name in fragrance and jewellery too. Searches for "tarteel silver" and "tarteel parfum" are real, they are measured, and they are not about software. If that is what you came for, this page has nothing for you, and we would rather say so than keep you here.
For everybody else: Tarteel is a memorisation app whose flagship feature is speech recognition. You recite from memory, it listens, and it flags word-level errors, skipped words and incorrect tashkeel as they happen. Quran Habit has no speech recognition of any kind. Not a weaker version, none. So on the axis Tarteel was built for, this comparison is over before the table starts.
That leaves a narrower question worth answering: what happens between revision sessions. Their competitor facts here were read from their App Store and Google Play listings on 7 September 2026.
Where Tarteel AI beats us
On checking a memorisation from your own voice, completely. Tarteel listens while you recite from memory and flags word-level errors, skipped words and incorrect tashkeel as they happen. Quran Habit has no speech recognition of any kind, so if hifz revision is the job you are hiring an app for, nothing on our side substitutes for that.
What Quran Habit is
A free Quran app and website built around one idea: that the hard part is not finding the Quran, it is coming back to it tomorrow. Everything below is free to read, with no advertising anywhere. On this page the app is the thing you use on the days you are not testing your memory.
- The mushaf you know. Page-accurate images, all 604 Madani pages, plus IndoPak at 610 and Naskh at 612.
- 43 translation languages and a 13-language interface, right to left for Arabic, Persian and Urdu.
- Word by word meanings in 14 languages, with per-word audio for learners.
- 40 reciters, 11 of them with word-level timing so the word highlights as it is recited.
- Tajweed colour script, and 4 scripts in all.
- Habit, not guilt. Streaks built to survive a bad day, khatm plans, and 33 weekly reading leagues.
- 84 Quranic duas and the 99 names, and the Hijri seasons the khatm plans are built around.
What Quran Habit looks like
Our own screens, from the shipping app. Tarteel AI's own App Store screenshots are further down this page, taken from their listing.
The feature table, in this comparison's order
The first row of this table is theirs and it is the row most readers came for.
Yes: their materials state it. No: they state its absence, or it is checkable from outside and checkably absent. Not stated: they are silent, which is never counted as a missing feature. We are held to the same rule, and our own column is read from our own store listings the same way.
- 6 rows Quran Habit states and Tarteel AI's materials do not
- 1 row Tarteel AI states and Quran Habit's do not
- 6 rows both state
- 3 rows neither states
The one row we lose: Checks your recitation.
| Feature | Quran Habit | Tarteel AI |
|---|---|---|
| Checks your recitation Does it listen to you recite and flag mistakes? | No No speech recognition of any kind. The app never listens to you. | Yes The flagship. It listens while you recite from memory and flags word-level errors, skipped words and incorrect tashkeel as they happen. Tarteel AI's own site, their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Reading streak Does it count consecutive days of reading? | Yes Built to survive a bad day rather than punish one. | Yes Smart goals with "streaks and heatmaps". Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| League or leaderboard Are readers ranked against other readers? | Yes 33 weekly reading leagues, plus streak and friends tables. | Yes Groups and leaderboards. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Khatm plan Is there a dated plan for finishing the whole Quran? | Yes Dated plans, including the seasonal ones. | Not stated Goal planning is listed under Premium; no khatm or completion-plan wording was found. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Works offline Do their materials state that reading works with no connection? | Yes Both our store listings state it: the full Quran offline in four scripts, and any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full. The page-image mushafs are downloads. | Not stated Their listing says Tarteel "requires microphone access and a stable internet connection in order for its voice features to function properly". Neither listing states an offline reading mode. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Quran text free Can you read the whole Quran without paying? | Yes Free to install; the whole Quran is free on this website with no account. The text and the word-by-word are never put behind a paywall. | Yes Freemium, and what Premium unlocks is listed: live mistake detection, hidden verses, goal planning and mistake history. Reading is not what is paid for. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| More than one script Is more than one mushaf script or edition offered? | Yes 4 scripts, 10 mushaf choices. | Yes Madani and Indo-Pak, with an option to hide ayah markers "for a true test of memory". Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Page-accurate mushaf Does a page on screen match a page of a named printed mushaf? | Yes All 604 Madani pages as page images, plus IndoPak at 610 and Naskh at 612. | Not stated An "Adaptive Mushaf" in Madani or Indo-Pak. Page-accuracy to a printed mushaf is not stated. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Word-by-word meaning Is there a translation under each individual word? | Yes Word-by-word meaning in 14 languages, with per-word audio. | Not stated Not mentioned. Their word-level claims are about mistake detection, not translation. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Tajweed colouring Is tajweed shown as colour in the reading view? | Yes A tajweed colour script, one of the four. | Yes Tajweed colouring in the mushaf. Their help centre article "Understanding Tajweed Colors in the Tarteel Mushaf", which their site dates 5 May 2026, describes a Show Tajweed Colors toggle under Quran Appearance and an in-app colour guide. Whether their AI flags tajweed errors while you recite is a separate question their current materials do not answer. Tarteel AI's own site, read 7 September 2026 |
| Word-level audio Is audio aligned to single words, not only to whole ayat? | Yes 11 of the 40 reciters carry word-level timing. | Not stated Not stated for playback. Their word-level work is recognition of your voice, not alignment of a reciter's. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| No adverts Is the free tier free of advertising? | Yes None anywhere, and Google Play carries no "Contains ads" label on our listing. | Not stated No ads advertised and no "Contains ads" label on Play, but no ad-free claim either. Their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Word grammar and roots Are root, lemma, morphology or verb forms shown per word? | No No root, no lemma, no morphology, no verb forms. We give the meaning and stop. | Not stated Not mentioned. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Prayer times in the app Does the same app also give prayer times, Athan or Qibla? | No Not in the app: no prayer-time screen, no qibla. They exist on this website only. | Not stated Not stated. Their App Store listing and their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026 |
| Source code public Is the source published under a licence anyone can read? | No Closed source. | Not stated Not stated in their materials. Tarteel AI's own site, read 7 September 2026 |
| iPhone app Is there an App Store listing today? | Yes On Google Play and the App Store. | Yes A live App Store listing. Their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026 |
The Tarteel AI documents every row above was read from
- their App Store listing, read 7 September 2026
- their Google Play listing, read 7 September 2026
- Tarteel AI's own site, read 7 September 2026
A row rests on one of these or it is not here. A claim from a help centre with no stable address is named in the cell instead of linked.
Checks your recitation
Theirs, completely. If hifz revision is the job you are hiring an app for, nothing on our side substitutes for a machine that tells you which word you dropped. Their Premium tier is where live mistake detection, hidden verses, goal planning and mistake history sit, and their listing says so.
Reading streak
Both have one. Theirs is "streaks and heatmaps" around recitation goals; ours is around reading, and it is built to survive a missed day rather than reset on it. This is the closest the two apps come to competing.
League or leaderboard
Both. They have groups and leaderboards, we have 33 weekly reading leagues. Different units, same idea: other people are watching.
Khatm plan
Ours. Their materials name goal planning, under Premium, but no plan for finishing the whole Quran on a date. If your aim this Ramadan is a khatm rather than a surah committed to memory, that is a real gap in their materials.
Works offline
Theirs needs a connection for the thing it is for. Their own listing says Tarteel "requires microphone access and a stable internet connection in order for its voice features to function properly". Ours states the reading side plainly: the full Quran offline in four scripts, on both stores.
Quran text free
Both let you read for free. Their paid tier is unusually well described: four price points and a named list of what each unlocks, all of it memorisation tooling.
What Tarteel AI shows on its own listing
Their images, not ours. These are the first 3 screenshots on Tarteel AI's App Store listing, read on 8 September 2026. They are what the publisher chose to show, and none of them was taken from inside the app.
Choose Tarteel AI if
Install Tarteel if you are memorising. Word-level feedback on your own voice is the single hardest feature to build in this category and they are the ones who built it.
Flagship feature is AI mistake detection: word-level errors, skipped words, incorrect tashkeel.
Choose Quran Habit if
Add Quran Habit only for the other half of the week: the ordinary daily reading, the page-accurate mushaf, the khatm plan with a date on it. It will never tell you that you got a word wrong.
The bottom line. Tarteel checks your memory. We keep you reading. They are not the same job and you can want both.
Questions
What makes Quran Habit one of the best Quran apps?
The table above, rather than a slogan. Against Tarteel AI it gives Quran Habit six of the sixteen rows: No adverts, Page-accurate mushaf, Word-by-word meaning, Word-level audio, Khatm plan and Works offline. Under all of them sits one reading surface: 604 Madani pages as page images, IndoPak at 610, Naskh at 612. None of it substitutes for a machine that hears you recite, which is the row they win and the reason most readers arrive here.
Why does reading a little every day beat one long sitting?
Because 604 pages spread over a year is under two pages a day, and the same 604 pages in one weekend is not something anyone repeats the weekend after. A daily reading habit is arithmetic before it is anything else: a small number you keep finishes the mushaf, a large number you admire does not. Tarteel AI counts days too, and the table above gives them that row.
How does Quran Habit build the habit?
Four things, all of them rows in the table above. Streaks built to survive a bad day rather than punish one. Dated khatm plans, including the seasonal ones. 33 weekly reading leagues. And word-by-word meaning while you read, with 11 of the 40 reciters carrying word-level timing. No khatm plan appears in Tarteel AI's materials, which is why that row sits on our side of the table.
How does the reading league work?
You are placed in a weekly group of readers, the group is ranked by what you read that week, the readers at the top move up a league, and everyone starts fresh on Monday. There are 33 leagues in all, with a streak table and a friends table beside them. Tarteel AI ranks readers as well, so this row is a draw rather than an argument.
Which languages can I read the Quran in?
43 translation languages in the app, an interface in 13, and word-by-word meaning in 14 languages, with per-word audio. Arabic, Persian and Urdu are laid out right to left rather than reversed. This website carries the same text free, with no account and nothing to sign up for. Word-by-word meaning is not something Tarteel AI's materials claim, so that row is ours in the table above.
Does Quran Habit or Tarteel AI work without a connection?
Quran Habit states it in both of its own store listings, which is the only reason the table above ticks that row: the full Quran offline in four scripts, with offline audio for any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full, and the page-image mushafs downloaded when you want them. qht.app/getapp leads to Quran Habit on Google Play and the App Store, and those two listings are where that row is read from. Tarteel AI's materials state nothing about offline scope, so the table records their silence as silence and gives the row to us on ours.
What does this website collect about me?
Nothing that identifies you. There is no analytics, no advertising and no tracker on any page of this site, the Privacy link at the foot of this page is the policy that says so in full, and what you read here stays in your browser. The app has its own policy, linked from its store listing. Tarteel AI makes no ad-free claim either way, which the table records as not stated rather than as a fault.
What does Quran Habit cost next to Tarteel AI?
Nothing is sold on this website. Reading the whole Quran here is free and needs no account, and in the app the text and the word-by-word are never put behind a paywall, in Ramadan or in any other month. The app has a paid tier, and what it covers is conveniences around the reading rather than the reading. Their listing is unusually clear about what their paid tier unlocks, and all of it is memorisation tooling.
Which rows does Tarteel AI win?
One of the sixteen: Checks your recitation. They listen to you recite and name the word you dropped. We have no speech recognition of any kind, not a weaker version. The rows they state and we do not are argued above the table rather than under it, which is the order this page keeps on purpose. If you are reading rather than memorising, the row they win is the one you will never open, and the rows that go the other way are the page-accurate mushaf, word-by-word meaning, word-level audio, a khatm plan, no adverts and the offline line, none of which their materials state. qht.app/getapp leads to Quran Habit on Google Play and the App Store.
What do Quran Habit and Tarteel AI both do?
Six rows, stated by both sides: Quran text free, More than one script, Tajweed colouring, Reading streak, League or leaderboard and iPhone app. Both count days and both rank readers, so the choice between them turns on what you do in the app, not on whether it tracks you. Reading is free in Tarteel AI as well, and the table above says so.
How we compared
Every Tarteel AI fact on this page was read from Tarteel AI's own public materials, their site, their store listings and their help pages, on 7 September 2026. Where their materials do not state something, this page says "not stated" rather than guessing or repeating a third-party review, and a "not stated" is never counted against them.
No store ratings and no download counts, for anyone including us: they move daily and would be stale within a week. No religious judgement about any app. We are not neutral, we make one of these two, and that is why the rows we lose are argued before our own product card rather than after it.
Where Tarteel AI is measurably ahead of us, this page says so in its own section near the top, with both numbers in it.
If a fact here is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
Also: Tarteel AI alternatives · all seven apps compared
Tarteel AI: official site · App Store · Google Play. Corrections: support@quranhabit.com.
Every other app and company name on this page is the trademark of its owner, used here only to say which app is being compared. Quran Habit is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Apple and the Apple Logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.