Choosing an app to finish the Quran
There is no best khatm app, and the honest reason is duller than a ranking: the feature is arithmetic. Every app that has one divides the mushaf by the days you have and shows you the number. Of the seven other apps whose own materials we have read, two describe a dated plan for finishing the Quran and five do not describe one at all. What separates a plan worth having from one that is not is never the division. It is what the app does on the day you read nothing, and that is the thing almost nobody writes down. This page is built around that question.
Read this first
We make one of these apps. Quran Habit is ours, it has a khatm plan, and we would obviously like you to install it. That is exactly why this page gives you criteria you can run yourself instead of a verdict you have to take from us. We do not claim Quran Habit is the best Quran app, and nothing on this page is written to say so. Everything here is a fact you can check for yourself, in the app or in the sources we link. Which app is best is your decision, and it is a decision worth making on your own reading rather than on anyone’s ranking, ours included.
What "best" is being judged on here. Five things, listed below before any app is named: a real finish date, what happens when you miss a day, whether progress is counted on a page of a mushaf you recognise, whether the reading works offline, and whether the plan is free. They are written so a stranger can answer each one on any app in a minute or two. If a criterion here cannot be checked without taking someone's word for it, it does not belong on this page and we have got it wrong.
What was checked, and when. For every other app: its own website, help centre and store listings, read on the date printed in its row below, and nothing else. We quote what those documents say about a khatm plan and we do not fill in the gaps. For our own app: the shipping build, with the source line behind each claim recorded in this site's fact files. The app is free to install and the whole Quran is free to read on this website with no account at all, so the cheapest way to test any sentence below is to open the thing it is about and look.
What was not checked. Nobody ran a thirty day khatm in every app on this page, so nothing here is a review of how a plan feels after three weeks. No ratings and no download counts are quoted, ours included. "Not stated" below means the app's materials do not say, never that the feature is absent. And five criteria is our judgement about what matters: yours may weigh them differently, which is the point of publishing them separately from the evidence.
The five things a khatm plan has to get right
-
Does the plan have a real finish date, or only a daily number?
A daily number with no end is a habit, not a khatm. What makes a khatm plan a plan is that it names the day you finish, so that falling behind is visible while it is still small rather than in the last week.
How to check it on any app: Create a plan and look for a date. If the app only ever shows you "pages today", it is a reading goal with a khatm label on it, which is a perfectly good thing to want and a different thing to buy.
Quran Habit: A date, set when you create the plan. Pick a pace and the app shows pages a day, minutes a day and the finish date together, which is the same arithmetic the khatm calculator on this website does without an account.
Ours, so you can check the claim: day 4 of 30, 27 days left, and the finish date printed on the card as Oct 2. The card also says when you are behind, here by four days, and still asks only for today: 0 of 21 -
What happens on the day you read nothing?
This is the whole question, and almost no app answers it in its materials. A plan either silently re-paces you every night, which hides the shortfall until the target is unrecognisable, or it holds your number and waits for you to notice. Both are defensible. Not knowing which one you bought is not.
How to check it on any app: Create a short plan, skip a day on purpose, and open the app the next morning. Did the daily number change? That is the answer, and it takes two days to get.
Quran Habit: The number you set stays the number you set. The pages a day and the finish date are fixed when the plan is created, and re-pacing happens only when you ask for it, behind a Change pace confirmation. The cost of that choice is real and it is ours to state: a missed day waits for you, and you have to notice it.
What a missed day does not take: Your Journey keeps the growth tier, here Seed at tier 1 of 10, and 22 of 252 badges already earned -
Is progress counted on a real mushaf page, or on a number?
A khatm is usually counted in pages, and a page only means something if it is the page of a mushaf you recognise. An app that counts "screens" or reflowed verses gives you a percentage that does not match the paper copy on your shelf.
How to check it on any app: Read to the bottom of one screen and check whether it ended where a mushaf page ends. Then check which mushaf the app says it is using, and whether it says at all.
Quran Habit: Page-accurate images of the 604-page Madani mushaf, with IndoPak at 610 pages and Naskh at 612. The page counts differ between editions because the editions differ, which is why the arithmetic is done per edition rather than on a single number.
Al-Kahf 63, opened from page 302: the pill at the top names the printed page you are on, which is how a page-a-day plan stays honest -
Does the reading work with the connection off?
A khatm is thirty days of showing up, and the days you are most likely to read are the ones with no signal: a commute, a flight, a masjid basement. An app that needs the network to open an ayah will break the plan on exactly those days.
How to check it on any app: Aeroplane mode, close the app completely, open it, reach an ayah. Thirty seconds, and it cannot be argued with.
Quran Habit: Both our store listings state it: the full Quran offline in four scripts, and any reciter kept on the device by surah or in full. The page image mushafs are downloads, so the first one costs you a connection and none after it does.
-
Is the plan free, and does it stay free?
Plenty of apps are free to install and then put the part you came for behind a tier. A khatm plan is arithmetic over a text nobody owns, and paying a subscription to be told that twenty pages a day finishes in thirty is a strange thing to buy.
How to check it on any app: Create a plan on the free tier and then look for the plan features that are greyed out. Check the store listing for an in-app purchase list while you are there.
Quran Habit: Free, and the Quran itself is free in the app and on this website with no account. What a purchase does change is written out in full on our licences page, and none of it is reading.
What each app's own materials say
One row per app, taken unchanged from the comparison cluster, where every sentence traces to a document you can open. The date is when that app's facts were last read end to end. Where a row says not stated, that is what its materials say: an app can run a perfectly good khatm planner and describe none of it, and we would rather print the gap than guess.
| App | Is there a dated plan for finishing the whole Quran? |
|---|---|
| Quran Habit ours | States a plan Dated plans, including the seasonal ones. Our own app, and the limit is named in check 2 above. |
| Quran.com the free, ad-free mushaf app and site from the nonprofit Quran Foundation | Not stated No khatm or completion plan is named for the mobile apps. their App Store listing, their Google Play listing. Facts last read 7 September 2026. |
| Tarteel AI the AI Quran memorisation app from Tarteel Inc. | Not stated Goal planning is listed under Premium; no khatm or completion-plan wording was found. their App Store listing. Facts last read 7 September 2026. |
| Muslim Pro the all-in-one Islamic companion app from Bitsmedia | States a plan A khatam planner with deadline pacing and daily reminders. Muslim Pro's own site. Facts last read 7 September 2026. |
| Quran Majeed the long-running Quran app from Pakdata in Karachi | Not stated No khatm planner is stated in their current materials. Quran Majeed's own site, their App Store listing, their Google Play listing. Facts last read 7 September 2026. |
| Quranly the habit-tracking Quran app from Quranly Ltd in the UK | Not stated No completion plan is mentioned in any of their four documents. The goal is a daily amount, in minutes on their site and in verses in their article, not a finish date. Quranly's own site, their App Store listing. Facts last read 17 September 2026. |
| Ayah the deliberately minimal Madinah Mushaf reader from Ayah App | Not stated Not mentioned. One bookmark and reminders are the whole progress model they describe. their Google Play listing. Facts last read 7 September 2026. |
| Al Quran by Greentech the free word-by-word Quran and tafsir app from the Greentech Apps Foundation | States a plan A "Quran Planner" khatmah plan on a 29 or 30-day schedule, or a custom one, with multi-device sync. their App Store listing, their Google Play listing. Facts last read 7 September 2026. |
If the arithmetic is all you wanted
It very often is, and you do not need an app for it. The khatm calculator on this website divides the mushaf by any number of days in your browser, with no account and nothing to install, and gives you the pages a day and the minutes a day together. Write the number on a bookmark, put the bookmark in a paper mushaf, and you have a khatm plan that never needs charging.
If you would rather see what a plan looks like inside an app before you install one, our reading plan page shows the real screens, and Khatm dua is the page people most often want afterwards, and it is straight about which of the wordings in circulation is actually narrated.
Where this page sends you elsewhere
A khatm plan is one axis, and it is rarely the only one that decides which app you keep. Three other pages here answer the questions this one does not:
- 7 Quran apps compared, the whole field in one table, with a section for each app and the date its facts were read.
- How to judge a Quran app yourself, twelve checks you can run on any app, naming none.
- Whether to leave the app you already have, which for several of them is no.
Get Quran Habit
Quran Habit is on Google Play and the App Store. Free, no adverts, and the whole Quran readable on this website first if you would rather try before installing anything.
How we compared
The rules are written once, at the foot of the ranked list, where a reader who has just read a claim can check how it was arrived at: how we compare apps. In short: every fact about another app comes from that app's own public materials, each entry carries the date it was last read, and where an app's materials do not state something we write that they do not rather than guessing.
Every other app and company name on this page is the trademark of its owner, used here only to say which app is being compared. Quran Habit is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Apple and the Apple Logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.
Questions
So which app is the best for a khatm?
We are not going to tell you, and we are the wrong people to ask: we make one of them. What this page gives you instead is the five things a plan has to get right, each of which you can test on any app in a few minutes, and what every app we have read says about its own plan, dated.
What is a khatm?
One complete reading of the Quran, from Al-Fatihah to An-Nas. A khatm plan is the division that gets you there: the pages of the mushaf over the days you have, settled once instead of decided again every evening.
Do I need an app at all?
No, and that is worth saying on a page about apps. A ribbon in a paper mushaf and a number you remember will finish the Quran perfectly well. Our khatm calculator does the arithmetic in your browser with no account and nothing installed, and you can write the answer on a bookmark and never open it again.
What happens in Quran Habit when I miss a day?
Your daily number stays the number you set. The plan is not silently re-paced overnight: the pages a day and the finish date are fixed when you create the plan, and re-pacing happens only when you ask for it behind a Change pace confirmation. That is a design choice with a real cost, and the section above names it: a shortfall waits for you unless you re-pace, and you have to notice.
Why do so many of the apps in the table say "not stated"?
Because that is what their materials say, and we would rather print a gap than fill it. An app can have a perfectly good khatm planner and describe none of it on its store listing or help centre. "Not stated" means we could not find it written down, never that the feature is missing.
Are Ramadan plans different from ordinary ones?
Only in the dates and the framing. Thirty days of a thirty-juz book is a juz a day whatever month it is. What a seasonal plan buys you is that the start and finish are chosen for you, which removes the one decision most people stall on.
Does a khatm plan cost anything in Quran Habit?
No. The whole Quran is free to read in the app and free to read on this website with no account. What a purchase changes is listed in full on our licences page, and none of it is reading.
How many pages a day is a thirty day khatm?
About twenty on the 604 page Madani mushaf, which is one juz. Sixty days is about ten. The khatm calculator will do any number of days, including the awkward ones, and it shows the minutes as well as the pages.
Is a khatm plan the same thing as a reading streak?
No, and mixing them up is the commonest way a plan goes wrong. A streak counts days: it asks only whether you read today. A khatm plan counts the Quran: it asks whether you are on schedule to finish. You can hold a long streak and still be weeks behind a plan, which is why our plan card prints both the day you are on and how far behind you are, instead of one number that hides the other.
Can I follow the plan on a mushaf page rather than ayah by ayah?
In Quran Habit, yes: the mushaf carries its own Mark Page Read button, so a page a day is counted as a page rather than as a list of verses you tick off. It is worth checking on any app you compare, because a plan expressed in pages and a reader that can only count ayat is a plan you have to do the arithmetic for yourself.